#Writing Update & #NaNoWriMo Prep

nanowrimo-2016-web-banner-participant

Word Count: 2,790 words

I know I said these posts would become sporadic but I didn’t intend for it to happen so soon! It’s mostly been down to plain laziness with writing in general or me just forgetting about this completely. Starting to play Destiny also doesn’t help.

Not a great deal has happened really. My FMC’s housemates have been introduced (with one taking a particular dislike to her), she’s had her first Etiquette, Deportment and Elocution & Charms lessons and has had another run with the girl who took a dislike to my FMC first.  Majority of the words written were covering the lessons and introducing the teachers. Even so, I feel as though I am making progress and these things are going to help towards character development and the story.

Whilst I have been playing Destiny, I have had a few thoughts about the back story of the world, leading up to the start of the game. This has led me to wanting to attempt to write sci-fi again but using fan fiction to teach me how to write it whilst getting out the story that is in my mind. This is a strength of fan fiction I feel. (I discussed this a few years ago in this post).

So my NaNoWriMo project is changing ever so slightly from pure original fiction to original fiction and a fanfic. There’s a chance this may change obviously. It seems to be traditional that I at least have a wobble in the days and hours leading up to the start of a session. Writing two projects though also gives me a higher chance of winning. My only November win was when I was writing two different stories, though granted they were both original fiction.

Prep therefore for the next few days is continuing with the first project, playing, researching and making sure I read every Grimoire card that I get to help me write the Destiny idea. How’s your writing coming along? Are you doing NaNoWriMo? Having a wobble? Set on an idea? Maybe your planner knee-deep in research, a pantser with the vaguest of ideas or in the middle and are a plantser (half and half).

Let me know below and I will try to be a bit more consistent with these!

 

EDIT 26/10/16: Know that wobble I talked about? Yes, well, I think I am going to start writing the Destiny fan fiction now. I’m rebelling anyway so nothing has really changed there. Just thought I should say something now just in case I fail to another one of these updates between now and whenever.

Leave a Reply

