Monthly #Writing Update

Sherlock WritingFinal Word Count: 3,190 words

Not a complete disaster but I just seemed to hit a block last month. All those words to convey the characters from the train to the sorting ceremony with very little drama really plus the funeral stuff for the end of the story. Still, I do wonder why I hit such a big block.

I know tiredness is one potential point that caused it but beyond that, I don’t know. I had the first week of August off and I had days to just write and I would have thought going to see Wicked would have been enough to push me on but apparently not. Everyday it felt, I would sit to write and nothing would come out. All I would do is write a few words, delete them, rewrite, delete and so on but never actually writing anything and advancing me on. Even giving myself permission to write out-of-order didn’t help. I think it may have been a hindrance. Perhaps I am too used to working in order.

Over the last few days though, with September 1st and Back To Hogwarts coming, it did seem to push me on. It perhaps says something about the story and possibly my influences as a reader and writer.

Plan for this month then? Just try to push on and keep writing. After all, I am around 16,000 words behind for the year so far. So, not much then(!) Plus, I am aware that life is about to become exceedingly busy and writing will have to fall by the wayside. I have even dropped my own personal target for November and NaNoWriMo from the traditional 50k target to 25k though that may yet drop again. Either way, if I want to end this year hitting that target, I need to be catching up words now and even getting ahead.

How about you guys? Was August good for you or too hot to even think? Planning for NaNoWriMo? Other? Do comment below.

Leave a Reply

