#SundayBlogShare #CampNaNoWriMo July 2016: Days 13-16

CNW_Participant

Word Count: 10,172 words

Slightly higher than that now but still, I have passed the 10k mark finally! YAY! Most of the writing happened yesterday to be fair and I am behind. I’ll take whatever victories I can though after having a non-writing day on Friday (the 15th).

A lot of the writing was descriptive and exposition, ranging from describing my FMC’s apartment and new hometown to how the sun dampens my vampires powers, sapping them of energy and increasing their need to feed. I also talked briefly about different ways they did feed and about the ways slaves could be bought and sold as that provides a lot of the conflict. As for story, my FMC has met a new possible love interest (let’s call him MMC2) followed quickly by her meeting up with my earlier MMC, now MMC1.  The meeting with MMC1 was a little heated but was interrupted by my FMC having an appointment with a literary agent, the same one as MMC1.

After the meeting, MMC1 followed FMC and the two ended up fighting because my FMC wants nothing to do with him after the way he played with her heart whilst he seems to have become stalker-ish with her, wanting to talk and insisting they could still be an item. I am admittedly rather proud of the fact that my FMC punched him and kicked him in the googlies for his trouble.

Currently, my FMC is doing her shopping and has stopped to watch the slave auction, which is really the start of the real story. I seem to spend way too much time in set up! Or maybe I should just plan a bit more.

The plan for the next week after a late second week slump is just to catch up as many words as possible and get right into the story properly. Re-reading Writing the Paranormal Novel by Steven Harper is helping me to focus properly, even if this is going to be somewhat a nightmare to eventually edit. The other Camp story is going to be hard as well but at least I have planning in that one. This one is being totally winged! I may yet also have a look at stuff about writing romance stories, love triangles and stalkers. Those will be fun Google searches!

How are things for you? Slumped badly? Keeping going? Ahead or behind? Feel free to comment below.

Leave a Reply

