#CampNaNoWriMo July 2016: Day 5

CNW_Participant

Word Count: 6,013 words

Had a really good day yesterday. It was mostly focused on showing the slavery side of life in my FMC’s country and revealing the abuses that they go through. The reason all of this was revealed was partly to finishing up my FMC’s memory that I had finished midway through the day before but also because my FMC is finishing her journalism studies and was working on a final project piece about slaves at the seminary her dad teaches at when he’s not preaching to his flock. It was whilst there that she discovered the underbelly of the industry.

Let me just say that I am in no way indicating that any real life church or religion is bad or anything of the sort. It’s just the way things work in my story.

On a lighter note, my FMC has also met her sister’s boyfriend’s werewolf family. There, she discovered the camaraderie and the closeness of the family and it gave her confidence that her sister and her baby will be safe and supported, especially as her boyfriend’s mum pretty much told them that they were to marry now that the sister was pregnant. The boyfriend’s mum also talked to my FMC about their parents reaction whilst also giving my FMC a chance to tell her that the sister had been thrown out because of the pregnancy.

Everything that happened in the story though has got me thinking that I need to tone down the romance story line. My FMC is also quite possibly too sheltered so the fact she seems to be heading down the investigative journalist line might actually be a real help. It would open up a few lines of thought and make her a bit more active in later events.

It also means I am roughly two days ahead of schedule which is good because this weekend, there is every chance I am not going to have any time or energy to write. I just need to make sure I keep that buffer up.

How is everything going for you? Still enjoying your story or struggling? Do comment below.

Leave a Reply

