#CampNaNoWriMo July 2016: Day 4

CNW_Participant

Word Count: 3,262 words

Started with a conversation between my FMC and MMC, who went off to dance before moving to the next day to find out my FMC’s sister is pregnant by her werewolf boyfriend and their mother thinks of the sisters as failures. The sister was then thrown out of the house, FMC followed to talk to the sister before volunteering to go with her to tell the werewolf. I finished midway through the FMC remembering how her father had taken her with him when he had been called to perform last rites to a dead slave in a slave shop. Hopefully, this is rather a blunt way for now to show why the FMC is anti-cruelty and anti-mistreatment of slaves.

You might ask why she isn’t anti-slavery all the way and the current answer to that is that the country where she lives is so pro-slavery that every apparent reform that is passed is another way to keep slavery going. Think of the Russian Emancipation Act 1861 and what it meant in reality due to the redemption payments and you have an idea of where I am going with it. The only thing keeping it from being cruel is because of vampires like the FMC who figure that if slavery isn’t going to be abolished, they can make sure they have some rights through putting obligations on the owners to educate, feed, dress and limit the extent of punishments handed out.

This might be me trying to be too clever in my world building but it is helping me so I am sticking to it. External to this, I have decided to change my FMC’s job. She was going to be a social worker, working with slaves, but having thought about the rest of the story, I am now thinking that journalist or researcher of some sort might be better. Of course, that could change again.

How’s Camp going so far for you? On target, overachiever or behind? If you are behind, try getting word wars going (they’re helping me hit my target) or even try a word crawl. You can find both wars and crawls by heading to the Word Wars, Prompts, & Sprints part of the NaNoWriMo forums. Good luck everyone on day 5!

Leave a Reply

