Writing Narrative Endings – Infographic…

I know we are only 3 days into Camp NaNoWriMo but here’s a little something about endings that might be worth thinking about.

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

Extract from an article by Kristine Nannini – elementary school teacher, curriculum writer, educational blogger, and founder of Young Teacher Love.

image

How many writing pieces have you read with the words THE END scribbled at the bottom? Yes, I know it’s the end. I always tell my students that they don’t have to tell me it’s the end. I should know it’s the end if they’re writing a good ending! The first time I see this in a student’s writing, I write THE END on a piece of paper, crumble it up, and throw it in the trash. It’s like a mini ceremony to say goodbye to THE END, and it sends a strong message!

Barry Lane said it best in his book Reviser’s Toolbox: “Don’t write endings, find them… Endings grow from beginnings and reveal themselves through clues within the story, characters, or ideas.”

The Infographic below was sourced from her…

View original post 20 more words

Leave a Reply

