#Writing Update

d7a3e-writingCurrent word count: 2,489 words

And practically all those words are about familiars because, yes, my FMC got her cat familiar. She has learnt that her oldest brother is all right when the mood takes him and that the crows and ravens she has seen hanging around in the tree in the garden over the years are actually her siblings familiars. She has also been told that dark magical practitioners are not limited to certain familiars.

I think that’s going to play a part in the finale of the story. I’ve had a few more thoughts about the finale and it’s effect on my FMC but I think I need to write and cement those thoughts and ideas before I commit to them. I just don’t want to end up going down the wrong path plus I have some concerns about being too cliché or making her Mary Sue-ish.

I have a 5,000 word target for this month so obviously, I am racing ahead of where I need to be at this point which is good I feel. It leaves me free to get this month’s word count then start building up any buffer I may need for later in the year, because life will impact on writing plus I haven’t finished a 50k November since 2012. I miss that target (and possibly my July Camp 25k target) with no buffer and I can say goodbye to my yearly word target. I am 5.2k words ahead but it never hurts to be ready. If I can write more than my target, I might as well do that and enjoy the feeling of having slack days with little or no consequence.

How’s your writing coming along? Continuing your Camp project, started something new or perhaps gone back to another project? Hope you are having fun whatever you are doing?

Leave a Reply

