Camp #NaNoWriMo April 2016: Days 9-13

CNW_Participant

Current Word Count: 13,000 words

A bit of a jump in word count since my last update and that’s partly because my FMC has discovered she has an ability to reap the souls that have become ghosts and send them on. She has also inadvertently released all the souls in a Pandora’s Box type box that were all trapped there by her non-biological family. It mirrors Cardcaptors/Card Captor Sakura a lot and I suspect that is my subconscious doing the “write what you know” thing.

On top of that, she has received her school place offer but at the same time being told she must return home to her non-biological family. The place offer has fallen by the wayside for now whilst my FMC returns and finds herself at odds with everyone, including her mum. There’s friction there and it’s something I can play with.

Story wise then, it is going okay (mostly!) but writing wise, not so much.

The ability and the releasing of the souls is clichéd I know but I like it. Whether it stays should I actually do another draft after this, I have no idea but for now, it’s staying because it fits. It has the added bonus of giving her an ability that links her to her biological paternal family, who are all involved with the ghost hunting world in some form. I suspect I may use that link at least to give my FMC some comfort.

I do suspect though that I might have started the story a little too early in story time. Talking to a friend earlier today has convinced me that I may have enough story to cover the time but along with the fact that I am at 13,000 and the FMC has not gone to school yet, I think I may struggle a little. Yet again, it is something that I need to address should I redraft this. I’ll get there in the end, I know, but it is still going to bug me a little in the meanwhile.

How are things going for you? Good? Bad? Into the meat of your story or languishing at the start? Don’t be afraid to comment below.

Leave a Reply

