Monthly #Writing Update

3278e-writerWord Count: 1,852 words

Monthly Word Count (so far): 9,728 words

I am aiming to hit 10k tonight before Camp starts tomorrow. I might have hit that target this weekend had my laptop not died on Friday and resurrected itself on Monday. No, I have no idea how it managed to do that either. All I do know is that it made me rethink my Camp idea.

Before my laptop failed on me, my MMC has been released from prison and has visited my FMC, explaining his part in the story and has announced he is going to help my FMC with her housing problem (she’s been evicted from her flat). It wasn’t much but it pushed the story on. It is a story I have enjoyed writing this month, even if it has been a bumpy ride of sorts with it. I know where that story needs to go and I will have to go back to it at some point. I just hope I actually do.

As for this week at least, I ended up having a wobble over my NaNoWriMo story whilst my laptop was down. I had planned something heavily inspired by Tom Clancy’s The Division, as I have previously discussed. Last week, I asked if I should have a second story due to writing outside of my genre once more, trying to learn my lesson from Camp July 2015. That second story also happened to be the magic school from the same Camp session. I had harboured thoughts of going back and rewriting it but I had no idea when.

Without any access to my files and struggling to write, I started to rethink my story. I started wondering how excited I truly am about The Division story. I do like the idea but that’s all it is I suspect: an idea that I need to work and hone more before I can truly write it. I know this sounds like the muse has left sort of problem and it is in a way. I also know though when to trust my instincts. This is one such occasion.

Of course this left me with no story for a short time as I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go back to my July 2015 story. Again, instinct kicked in and told me that I should go back so my Camp story is now a rewrite. It sometimes really pays to listen to your instinct.

I know I seem to be rambling about this but I think it’s important that I do write this down and share my experience, perhaps maybe help others if possible. I know it has helped me because I feel I am able to think about this with a lot more clarity that I had done.

How has your writing been going this week and this month? Entering Camp next month? Had any wobbles or do you know what you are doing for definite? Whatever your plans for April, good luck and happy writing!

2 thoughts on “Monthly #Writing Update

  1. I’m both excited and nervous for Camp. I’m continuing my current project and hoping to reach “the end” by April 30th. I think I’ll need a bit more than 50k to get to that point.

    I had a computer resurrect itself after 11 months. It stopped working on New Years Day and came back to life when I tried to get it to work one more time on a whim while I was procrastinating during NaNoWriMo. I’d messed with it off and on throughout the year, trying all sorts of things once I’d officially replaced it and it seemed like a lost cause. This happened back in 2011, and aside from being old and slow now, that computer is still working. Pretty much drove home my belief that computers just don’t want to behave sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m sure you succeed! Go! Go! Go!

      Okay, that just proves that technology has a mind of it’s own! Here’s hoping my laptop will survive the month.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

