#Writing Update

3278e-writerWord Count: 5,622  words

Yes, that is correct. Over 4,000 words this past week, admittedly including about 800 words of planning for Camp next month. I just won’t have the time to do any later this month so I am taking advantage of the time now to do it, along with the fact that Tetra Ninja is posting his Tom Clancy’s The Division walk-through on YouTube. That game is proving to be a big influence on the story. It also lets me tweak things as I realise that I have gone a bit off track.

In terms of actual writing, I wrote myself into more story than anticipated. I was just planning on doing the ending and the explanation to help me write the rogue part I was talking about last time. Instead, I wrote the characters arguing, a fight between the FMC and the big bad initially before evolving into a fight between her and a rabid MMC. That ended up taking a few days to do as I was struggling to block out the fight and work out how to injure her badly enough for the next bit of story. The Hulk movie from 2003 ended up helping as it made me realise that I needed to change her motivation somewhat in the battle. She was unwilling to fight him except to stop someone else getting hurt but I realised she had to be willing to do so and to hurt him badly too. Otherwise, the story would end on a downer with both characters dying.

Now the focus is on rebuilding the characters, their relationship and deciding whether to have him face criminal proceedings. My instinct says yes, everything else, no. We’ll see but I suspect that and some more Camp planning will be what I am doing for the rest of the week.

How did your week go? Close to target or struggling to get off the ground? Please do comment below.

Leave a Reply

