#Writing Update

Sherlock WritingWhat a difference a week makes it seems.

Word count: 3,874 words.

That means I was only 150 words or so off my 5k target yesterday and I hit that today. Currently have 316 words so far. I had done a lot more but lost it all because I am still learning how to use the On The Go feature on the WAY site. It is a nifty little thing that would be handy for write in’s providing you have an internet connection.

Moving on, the main reason for me getting so much written is because I just let my FMC talk about her own childhood and my MMC’s. It isn’t necessarily helpful to the story but it is helpful for me. It gave me a chance to actually figure out what the main story is about anyway (which will get written eventually) but also made me realise that a lot of the ideas I already had about the characters backstories were, well, wrong. These are characters that have been developing and evolving for some years. Naturally things will change but I realised this past week that I allowed myself to go down completely the wrong track so lose my way a little with the characters. Things are still liable to change but their stories now fit so much better and I am learning a lot about the characters themselves. That can only be good in my mind.

I suppose this story is sort of turning into character sketches and it now probably won’t be the Valentines Day story I was thinking last week but I am still happy with the writing and to be writing!

How’s your writing going? Have you got a target for this month or specific deadline? Are you just writing to have fun or get back into the habit? Let’s face it, December is not the easiest month for most people to be writing. Hope your having fun and keeping warm. (It’s so cold!)

Leave a Reply

