Monthly #Writing Update

Monthly Total: 12,265 Words

This past monthly has mostly been exposition, introducing characters, classes, teachers, my FMC’s talents and abilities and a dozen more things which serve as background information and important elements to the stories. It doesn’t seem like much but it is all important I feel for the story, for myself to understand the story and it has pushed the story forward.

This past month has also taught me that if I want to do the 50,000 words for NaNoWriMo next month, I need to do more research and planning beforehand so I am not constantly stopping to look something up or figure something out. Sometimes, it has been necessary, such as figuring out how education, employment and training works in the world having aged up my characters. Other things, like forgetting character names at a write in this weekend and crashing into a wall because I needed to figure out the plot more, slowed me down and is the sort of thing I need to write down beforehand to keep me going. I am now getting on and past the plotting part but the point still stands. I needed to know this.

Granted this novel was started with little planning and on a whim because I didn’t like the previous story which I was writing for Camp and it still works for something that is more long-term but for a challenge like NaNo, plotting and world building needs to happen before it starts. So it is one of the things I will be doing this month in preparation for November which means the current novel will have to take a back seat for this and next month realistically if I want to finish the challenge.

I didn’t manage to finish my 10,000 word target for August but I have done the 10k for September and then some to keep me on track. This month, maybe a little ambitiously, the target for 25,000 in preparation for the 50k next month. I can give it ago at least and lower it if needed but I am hoping to use this month as not just a planning and prep for the story but also to get me hitting the higher word targets. It’s an idea at least.

Aims for this month are to keep going with the Camp story, write more and get 25,000, plan and prepare for November, both story and survival wise (I do have stuff going on in life after all) and to make sure I have a story to go back to after November to give me a break. After all, December is hard enough with Christmas and family and New Years to be dealing with a story that is in crisis.

How was your writing last month? Are you doing NaNoWriMo next month too and starting to prepare now? What are your plans this month? Don’t be afraid to comment below.

2 thoughts on “Monthly #Writing Update

  1. Congratulations on hitting your word target for September!

    I wrote a lot less than I’d like in September. Life stuff kept messing me up and I lost my whole routine. I need to build the habit back up.

    I’ll be doing NaNoWriMo, and I desperately need to start prepping for it now. I’m completely reinventing a story I tried to write for NaNoWriMo years ago. I’m keeping a few of the characters and some facts about their world, but giving them a whole new story so I have lots of work to do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! For me, it is about habit as well as word count. That’s why I have a spreadsheet and do the updates too on here.
      As for NaNo, I’m working on an old story idea I had a few years ago but decided against doing in favour of another. Since I didn’t exactly do much in the way of planning, that’s what I am going to have to do along with research.
      Sometimes reinventing a story completely is the best thing to do.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

