Writing Update

Handwritten words aside, I’ve got 2,610 words down. Not a lot but in among everything else, I am quite happy with having got quite a bit written. Using the WAY excel sheet has helped with keeping track and wanting to write even when I haven’t for whatever reason.

I have hit a slight wall with this train scene where it is supposed to be my FMC worrying she is going to be found out as coming from a dark magic family. I think I may have found a break in that wall which may or may not help. On the upside, sort of, procrastinating has helped with trying to refocus on the FMC of who she is. I think I may have lost sight on who the character is so has produced a block on me.

The first was realising that perhaps my FMC is a good Slytherin if she went to Hogwarts. I can’t help thinking that she is probably ambitious, cunning and resourceful, the traits of a Slytherin. I may discover that isn’t true but right now I think I need that guide. Something else that is helping me with the FMC is finding a song that I think fits her. The other day on YouTube, I listened (and my have sang along to as well) a deleted sing from Wicked called Making Good, which I think fits with my FMC:

She has her plans and ambitions. She doesn’t know what she wants to do but she wants to be doing something that will make people remember her as something other than the weird kid from that dark magic family. I just can’t help thinking that this song and the idea she would be a Slytherin will help me.

Leave a Reply

