The Power of Talking Through a Plot Problem

I tend to use my blog for some ideas and talk to friends who are also writers to help me figure other stuff out. It just helps getting it out of my system and written down somewhere to look and think about objectively. There is also the added bonus of getting almost immediate responses.

Where Landsquid Fear to Tread

We all know that writing is a solitary process, one where a writer stereotypically locks themselves away somewhere and bangs on a typewriter (keyboard) until brilliance comes out. Your story usually is between you and your brain (and your muse, if you go in for such things).

That being said, I think a lot of us yearn from companionship. I think that’s one of the reasons NaNoWriMo has been so successful. We like other writers. We like to talk about our stories. We like to know that other people have had the same problems, and hear what they did to conquer them.

And that’s why, I think, when you have the right audience, talking through your problems can be hugely helpful. Sometimes you need to look at things another way and another point of view is the perfect solution.

I have a (largely defunct) LiveJournal that I have used over…

View original post 309 more words

Leave a Reply

