Musings on Christmas and Writing

First things first, sorry for the lack of posts as of late. Don’t you just love it when life in gets in the way? I also haven’t written as much as I would like on my NaNo. Whether or not it is going to be ready for editing by January or February time is now unclear. Still, a break from it might just help me write more and better.

It’s not being all bad as life has also led to me to doing some musing on two different ideas. One of the two I am going to do as a separate post as I have enough to do a short, quick one. The other one, which is less developed, is alluded to in the title and is admittedly more me asking for help from other people.

Writing over Christmas could be a challenge. Source: Google Images

With Christmas coming up, it’s got me questioning how I am going to keep writing over the festive period whilst my family is at home, leaving me without much opportunity for the quiet I like when I am concentrating and writing. I know retreating to my room is an option and I have gone to a library on New Years Eve before to sit and work but I was wondering if anyone else had any suggestions to help me and other writers. How do you handle writing when something like Christmas or other big events are going on around them which could derail them?

Do you shut yourself away, find a place to write or even accept that you are going to get little written? Any replies on this would be appreciated in helping me figure out my plan of action and possibly help me and others in the new year.

2 thoughts on “Musings on Christmas and Writing

  1. My family Christmas is pretty laid back, in that we’re all old enough that we go to sleep in the afternoon, between lunch and Doctor Who. But I tend to find half an hour or more to do a free write or plotting session. Mostly, I give myself the period off and just note down anything I think of when I can. Post-it notes on the wall.

    Like

    • Post it notes are a writers best friend I think! I reckon I might have to give myself time off over Christmas just get written whatever I can over the period as I have no idea what is happening actually with my family.

      Like

Leave a Reply

