NaNoWriMo: Days 19-26

Participant Banner

This new WordPress layout is still a little weird to me. Sorry, I needed to say that.

On the subject of NaNoWriMo, I am now up to 22,276 words so I am at least on target for 25k by the end of the month. I am however wondering if this story could go beyond the 25k that I thought it would be especially as I have realised after going back over stuff at the beginning that I have a bit more story to play with than I thought. This could end up going up to 30,000 words. Well, we shall see?

I am also privately amused that I managed to bring in two of my characters from my university dissertation into the novel and not just for kicks. They actually played a part in establishing a bit more of the world and where places are in relation to one another. Job well done I say.

I know we haven’t hit the end of the month yet so it is probably a bit early to start thinking about the editing part of NaNoWriMo. If you are unsure what I am talking about, on your dash, there are virtual badges for making your novel on the website, hitting different targets, validating, donating, etc. and one that, when you hover over it, says: “You can’t make a revision promise yet. You’ll be able to promise to revise your novel once November ends.” I believe this is in reference to some things they post from January onwards about revising and editing your NaNo. At least, I seem to remember they did last year.

I think I might join in with that as I think I am onto something with this. I say think because, well, personal issues are causing me a lot of problems as I have mentioned before but it’ll keep me entertained, a little, maybe come January, right?

Leave a Reply

