Hot Patootie! Bless My NaNo!

Happy Halloween folks! To celebrate, have Meat Loaf singing Hot Patootie! Bless My Soul! from the classic musical, The Rocky Horror Picture Show:

As well as being Halloween, we are just hours away from the start of National Novel Writing Month. You might have guessed from the amount of NaNoWriMo Prep posts I have rebloggd and you might have also guessed that I am planning to enter this year.

I have a story surrounding two characters who work in a hotel. In basic, one character is a witch, a trainee concierge at the hotel, who ends up having to go to Berkshire, South of London, for a family reunion which ends up turning into a big family argument (what do you mean that always happens anyway?!) and ends up revealing a very nasty side of the witch. My other character is a werewolf, a receptionist at the hotel, who ends up going undercover to investigate a crime, under the direction of his pack alpha. I have probably not sold the story too well but I am looking forward to writing it. As you can probably tell, one story is more thought out than the other but the witch has talked to me more than the werewolf. Once the month gets under way, that might change.

Whether I get to the magical 50k or not, I don’t know; it will just be nice to be able to write something that is purely for fun! Being in competition with other WriMo’s could help push my word count up since I can be very competitive. I know I can and I do try to harness all that energy and use it all up during NaNo. I will end up revealing more about my story no doubt as I attempt to actually keep up with NaNo updates on here this time instead of having to bundle a bunch of days together like I have done in the past in one update. Who knows? I might even pluck up the courage to get to a write in or two in my local area! (What are you laughing at? It could happen!)

So bonus points if you got the joke I tried making with my title without looking at the video. I hope you are having fun and staying safe this Halloween, getting ready for NaNoWriMo in your own way if you are doing this session (don’t forget! Discounted Halloween sweets tomorrow!) and, because I am such a geek, have a levitating pumpkin from the Royal Institution!:

Leave a Reply

