#NaNoPrep 5: Meet your protagonist

And finally, NaNo Prep post number six!

Creativity In The Box

Stories are, at their heart, about people. Your story is about one person in particular, and I have no idea who that is. You may have no idea who that is, which I hope is fine because I have no idea who mine is either. It’s usually a he, who falls in love with another he, usually to his own annoyance. If I’m being honest, it’s usually Ianto Jones, because my fanfiction days are still well and truly here, and I miss him terribly.

But what if you haven’t just stolen your character from a work of fiction or someone you know? Where do you start? Well, stealing them is a very good start, in my opinion. They’ll mutate between first draft and final, and if they don’t just call yourself E.L. James. The best bit about stealing characters is that you get to spend thousands and thousands of words…

View original post 223 more words

Leave a Reply

