Camp NaNoWriMo: Day 1

2014 Participant Banner

Word Count: 280 words.

Day 1 and things go tipsy topsy-turvy To be expected since the only planning I had done was to figure out the basic plot of Wicked, the themes, issues and messages in the musical and the vague basic ideas for my actual story. I think it is because I have tried to figure out the layout of play scripts and the story has taken a back seat.

Bad idea since personal issues prevented me from starting to write until late last night and into the early hours of this morning and I probably could have had more done if I had done a bit more planning of the novel and less worrying about the format. I’ve reverted back to novel for now until I can figure out the story more. Probably best for me to stick with what I know until I know what I am actually doing. Good idea yes? As for the based on Wicked thing, it was originally a book so it is still based on it… Sort of… That’s my excuse I am sticking with it.

The fact I didn’t plan it more also affected on my writing last night. I started writing, realised I needed to research things in the early hours of the morning and ended up spending more time looking things up and not writing. D’oh! So the plan today? Get the story going at least so I at least have a chance this month.

Wish me luck?

2014 Participant Banner 2

6 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo: Day 1

  1. Good luck. You’ll catch up in no time at all.

    Like

    • Here’s hoping. It’s just taken an unexpected twist! Two days in and it is threatening to turn into something different. Not sure if that is good or not.

      Like

      • Go with it, embrace the flow. That’s what my Nanowrimo work did in November. While it might not fit into your current work it might be the start of something new and wonderful.

        Like

      • I think I need to. My characters are grabbing me by my hair and dragging me along at the moment.

        Like

  2. All the very best for every success with this. You’ll do it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

