Camp NaNoWriMo Pre-Jitters

2014 Participant Banner

More something out of curiosity here.

Why is it, in the hours, days and weeks before any NaNoWriMo session do myself and other participants I have spoken to start reconsidering their projects and have a desire to change it?

Is it nerves? Jitters at having committed to doing a full novel/script/rewrite/short story collection/etc. in just a month? Genuinely better ideas or something else? For me, especially lately, I always seem to get onto a Sly Cooper kick and want to write crime fiction with my thief characters. (My current kick I am blaming on the fact that I have found within the last week the teaser trailer for the movie, due out in 2016). You will know which characters I am talking about if you were following me in July last year. Have a read of my word count updates from that month by clicking on the July 2013 link in the side bar if you want to find out more. Maybe it’s something inside telling me I ought to go back to them and write more with them or maybe it is nerves at having committed myself to such a big project.

So is this phenomenon, if you will, isolated to me and my friends or is it something more widespread? If anyone who reads this blog does do NaNo (Camp or otherwise), can you tell me if you or anyone else you know have ever experienced it? If you don’t do NaNoWriMo but do commit to big projects (not necessarily literary) for whatever reason, do you experience something similar?

I’m really curious now about any replies I get back. For now though, I think I need to get listening to the Wicked soundtrack. It might quell the rebellious crime fiction thoughts that are plaguing my mind so I can focus on my project for next month. More details, if you are interested, are available by visiting Camp NaNoWriMo Planning.

2014 Participant Banner 2

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo Pre-Jitters

  1. There’s only been a few times in the 8 years and 11 NaNos I’ve done that I’ve questioned if what I’m writing is ‘right’. Usually those were stories I wasn’t completely certain about – whether if they would be long enough or interesting enough to write for a full 30/31 days. In 2008 I decided last minute to change what I was writing after I had spent two months outlining my original idea. I wrote about 1k to the new idea on November first, hated it so much that I started fresh and went back to my original idea. Why did I feel like I had to change when I clearly wanted to write the first idea? I was scared. It was a story dealing with heavy, depressing issues and I wasn’t sure I could tackle it.

    So for me it’s always been some sort of doubt on my part. Doubt that the book would be exciting enough. Doubt that the book would be long enough. Doubt that I could write the subject matter. Thankfully I don’t struggle with that as much now, and I just write whatever I want ^_^ Now the days counting down to NaNo are filled with pure excitement as I wait for the first!

    PS – I know several people who change ideas last minute purely because they have gotten bored with their planned idea already.

    Like

    • I’m glad to see I am not the only one who finds herself questioning her idea. In the past, changing my idea has led to me either not hitting my word count by deadline, a constant changing of ideas because I am bored throughout the month or, as I have frequently mentioned in post-NaNo analysis on here, a lack of planning. I think the reason I am questioning this time is both the Sly Cooper thing but also because I am proposing to write in a format I have very little knowledge of.
      Your comment though makes me wonder if experience is the key to relaxing and finishing projects during NaNoWriMo.

      Like

Leave a Reply

