Camp NaNoWriMo Planning

2014 Participant Banner

Okay, first things first, I want to apologise for a lack of real activity on here. A mixture of different things, mostly revolving around job hunting, have prevented me from posting and writing as much as I would have liked. Please forgive me for that.

My July project for Camp NaNoWriMo is based on the successful musical Wicked, which in turn is based on the novel by Gregory Maguire. Image Source: GoodSearch

Hopefully, the writing side of things will improve as I have signed up (perhaps stupidly) for another Camp NaNoWriMo session. Most of the writing I have done since April has surrounded planning for this next session, inspired by the musical Wicked. I am sure people will know what it feels like when you get thinking about something. I got thinking about this next session not long after my rather dreadful April attempt, whether I was going to take part in the July session and about the fact that Wicked is currently touring around the UK.

Unable to afford to go and see the professional version, I started wondering about whether there was any amateur performances of Wicked in my area. A quick search online revealed that there were no licenses available for am-dram groups to perform it so it was not possible for groups to do the show. Naturally (maybe to a writer’s mind), I started thinking about writing a script based on Wicked that can be performed by local drama groups and so July’s  project was born.

Whilst working on the basic planning, I realised that I was in danger of replicating the back story to another character I have. I also realised that whilst playwriting books and Celtx do try to help you write plays, I don’t actually know how to format a play script. So until I figure that bit out, I will be writing it as a moving image/film script. Don’t be afraid to get in contact if you can give me any advice or help on the formatting of play scripts. I will appreciate any and all help anyone can give me!

This new project may or may not work but I figure it is something well worth a shot. Will it get performed? Will I even edit it after I have finished the script? I don’t know but I really want to try. I am also curious about who else is planning to do NaNo this month. Hopefully, for me at least, July will be better than April.

2014 Participant Banner 2

One thought on “Camp NaNoWriMo Planning

  1. Pingback: Sleepy Book Dragon | Camp NaNoWriMo Pre-Jitters

Leave a Reply

