Frank Skinner to Star in Doctor Who

BBC News are reporting that Frank Skinner has been given a role in the next series of Doctor Who.

What role he will play is unclear however the episode he is going to be in is known to be penned by Jamie Mathieson, a writer from another BBC series, Being Human. Steven Moffat, the show’s Executive Producer, has said that the comedian has been asking him for a role ever since he took over.

Moffat has said: “It’s no secret that Frank’s been pitching vigorously to get into Doctor Who for a while. He’s been volunteering to be ‘third monster on the left’ as long as I’ve been in this job. But now, in Jamie Mathieson’s sparkling script, we finally have a part that can showcase all of Frank’s famous wit and charm. Hopefully he’ll get out of my garden now.”

Skinner is currently on tour with his stand-up show Frank Skinner: Man in a Suit. An excited Skinner, when talking about his role in the series, said: “I love this show. I subscribe to Doctor Who magazine, I’ve got a Tardis ringtone, a five-foot cardboard Dalek in my bedroom and – when I got the call saying they wanted me to read for the part, I was in the back of my tour bus watching episode three of The Sensorites.”

Series eight will air in Autumn with new Doctor, Peter Capaldi, and other confirmed stars, Samuel Anderson, Ben Miller and Keeley Hawes. Find out more by visiting the BBC News website.

Leave a Reply

