Camp NaNoWriMo: Days 13-20

2014 Participant Banner

This month has truly gone to pot.

Day 13: 8,042 Words

Day 14: 8,042 Words

Day 15: 8,042 Words

Day 16: 8,042 Words

Day 17: 8,042 Words

Day 18: 8,042 Words

Day 19: 8,744 Words

Day 20: 8,744 Words

As you can see, I have barely written this month. I know part of the problem is my laziness, another part is that life got in the way for a few days. There have been issues with my characters too. They just won’t behave and push the story forward. Forcing them together as a couple got me words on day 19 but I am realising now that the characters are not as well-rounded and as well-developed as I thought.

This might just be me but I find I can plan out the story, know the important points, turning points, do the research etc. but if the characters are not working, not developed, they won’t, talk to me, if you will. I know this sounds odd and the old muse excuse but I do find it’s true under certain circumstances. This is one of them I find.

With this in mind, I have lowered my word goal again  (to 15,000 words this time) and have decided to change stories. The original story is feeling too much like flogging a dead horse and I just can’t go ahead with it whilst the characters are under developed. I have all the planning necessary to go back to it one day but not now. I don’t want to give up on this session and want to keep writing with some form of goal so am allowing myself a change in story and keep writing. The story is something I have written before for a different NaNoWriMo but now, the story is changing in my mind and I want to have a go at writing this other version.

So here’s to having a new crack at NaNo and perhaps put me still in with a chance to get a win and a certificate this month!

2014 Participant Banner 2

Leave a Reply

