Camp NaNoWriMo: Day 1

2014 Participant Banner

Day 1 wasn’t entirely brilliant with just 665 words written but I blame that on having started writing and realising that I needed to do some re-jigging of my planning, setting and background information. Not least of all, characters remained unnamed until yesterday. For now, my MMC and his family have been named and a surname given to my FMC’s family. So still some work to do there and getting names sorted for my FMC (and the name of the town and island setting). I think that is going to be my first job this afternoon before I start writing again.

I struggled to get writing yesterday mainly because the first bit is meant to be the awkward first meeting between the FMC and MMC which sparks the events of the novel. The problems mentioned above naturally impacted on the writing, including the fact that the novel is set up in the Shetland Islands. I don’t know the Scottish education system as well as the English so required a bit of research to make sure I was on the right track. It might easily be a novel I will not revisit once this month is over but get certain things right the first time matters to me. Not least of all, it helps with getting things written initially and with editing at later stage in case I do go back to it.

Now I have got writing, hopefully things will be a little easier here on in.

2014 Participant Banner 2

Leave a Reply

