Happy New Year! Goals instead of Resolutions Anyone?

Big Ben’s bongs say goodbye to 2013 (Picture: AFP PHOTO / LEON NEAL)

Big Ben’s bongs say goodbye to 2013 (Picture: AFP PHOTO / LEON NEAL)

I hope the year has been kind to you already, wherever you are in the world.

Lots of people make New Years Resolutions at this time of year and you often find, on UK newspaper websites anyway, articles on fitness regimes or “proceed with caution” stories about resolutions gone bad. I never make resolutions as I struggle dreadfully to keep them so why bother make them?It might sound negative or defeatist but that’s just my attitude. Maybe I could learn something from Virgin boss, Richard BransonWhere are you going in 2014?

This year has been the first year I have  found myself without any deadlines, term/semester start dates or anything. It feels weird and, in that respect, I guess I should make up my own goals, rather than resolutions, and try to find a way to make them rigid so I have to stick to them. For me, the goals will have to be centred around the novella that was my dissertation for university and possibly even this blog. They are the only things that I really have any control over.

I can’t control the job market or job creation. Job hunting is the only other thing I have available to me to do that has to be done. It is such a soul-destroying trudge I find that I will need something else to focus on that will keep me from stressing and going insane.

So what are some possible goals for me to focus on?

1) Try to post on this blog at least once a week. Even if it’s just a little something that will keep this blog alive and kicking, it will at least be something for me to do that will rebuild my soul a little. It could also help me find a job by doing articles and reviews.

2) Rewrite, edit and try to find a reliable beta reader to get my novella turned around into something that is of novel length and, hopefully, publishable. The deadline I have tried to impose on myself to force me to work on it is September of this year, 2014. In September, I hopefully will be working on my summary, checking the up to date submission policies of literary agents and agencies to start sending it off.

3) Keep up to date and listen to the Welcome to Night Vale podcast when the new episode is released. Since I have subscribed to it on my iTunes, that should be a case of opening iTunes and letting it download the latest episodes instead of having to catch up and listen to half a dozen episodes all at once to keep up.

4) Keep in touch with friends. I have done a dreadful job so far trying to keep in contact with friends from high school and sixth form so I should at least attempt to keep up with friends from university and other places. Not too easy since I do not like FaceBook (due to stuff from sixth form) and everyone seems to be on there and no one seems to like e-mailing or using sites like Google+.

5.i) This and the next one are related, that’s why I am doing them in two parts. Find ways to network with people and keep in contact with them. This could easily help me find the elusive job that has been out of my reach so far.

5.ii) Keep an ear open and an eye out for any opportunities that arise at the National Trust to get wider and more varied experience. In particular, if a writing opportunity comes up, enquire and, if offered, grab it with both hands.

Not sure about any others but hopefully, these will help me keep sane and keep busy whilst trying to find a job. Well, that’s the theory anyway should I keep to them.

Related articles

One thought on “Happy New Year! Goals instead of Resolutions Anyone?

  1. Pingback: Sleepy Book Dragon | Resolutions and Goals

Leave a Reply

