Camp NaNoWriMo Days 19, 20 & 21

2013 Banner 1

Okay, interesting few days. I haven’t posted on here about my progress due to having slight writer’s block on how to proceed and family duties to attend to. It has led to me struggling to get much written but things are improving.

I have gone from struggling to get on with the novel to suddenly getting a break through by thinking I might as well just write notes about the sections I am struggling to write and get to the sections I feel confident I could write.

Day 19, Friday, I sat struggling and managed to just about write the sentencing part of the trial and different character’s reactions to the sentence. This included the detectives decision to open an investigation into it. The detectives at least will give me a storyline to write with if I get struck. I also was on babysitting duty with my two nephews so couldn’t settle down to do much writing anyway with a baby and little boy wanting me to play with them both.

Saturday, day 20, I headed to a local library where I knew I could spend at least an hour on a computer just doing some quick writing to try to get further in the novel. Reason I headed to the library to write is that I actually find it a lot easier to write at a desk and not, as I do at home, with my laptop on my legs sat on the sofa. It proved effective as, after doing a few notes to cross a certain part, I realise that I could move the two characters meeting again to an earlier point during the transfer to Alcatraz prison. This move to the library proved to be a good idea as I ended up writing for an hour and 40 minutes and managed to get 824 words written. That is far more than what I can get done in the same amount of time at home. It also confirmed in my mind that I am going to have to have a proper desk to work at if and when I move out.

I did do a little writing once I got home but since most of my afternoon and evening was taken up by babysitting nephews again and having one fall asleep in my arms, it was less than maybe what I could have gotten done otherwise. I could get a little planning done though due to having the television on and one of the programmes featured a prison riot story. Watching it, it made me realise that for both of my characters to get out of prison, then they would need to start a prison riot of some sort to cover their tracks. They could also enlist the help of other prisoners to help with that and maybe help the prisoners with getting what they want inside the prison…if that makes sense… Yeah, in my imagined criminal world, a lot of deals, etc. get struck.

Day 21, was a Sunday and as I have said before, I don’t tend to write much on a Sunday as it is a family day. This was especially so yesterday since my great-uncle and aunt were visiting my nanan and granddad and my nanan has been in hospital lately so it is little wonder that, whilst getting some writing done, it wasn’t too much. It kept me on target though to finish this month on 35,000 words.

So that’s the update on what has happened over the weekend. Sorry for the lack of updates. It was necessary though for me to get back on track.

Word counts:

Day 19: 22,886 words

Day 20: 23,729 words

Day 21: 24,255 words

 

Leave a Reply

