A M Homes wins Women’s prize for Fiction 2013

Can I just express my amusement at the constantly changing name of this award please? Sorry, but this just amuses me too much!

Wakefield Libraries

_67996037_may-we-be-forgivenAmerican author A M Homes won the Women’s Prize for Fiction, awarded at a star studded ceremony at London’s Royal Festival Hall last night. The prize was awarded for Homes’ novel May we be Forgiven, which is a dark satire set in American suburbia. The other novelists on this year’s shortlist were Kate Atkinson, Barbara Kingsolver, Maria Semple and Zadie Smith. Homes wins a prize of £30,000, and is the fifth American author to do so. The Women’s Prize was previously known as the Orange Prize for Fiction and will be renamed again next year when a new sponsor, Baileys cream liqueur, will support the prize for a three-year term beginning in 2014.

View original post


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s