The books that made me

This post says most of what I would want to say on the subject but to add something new personally, for me it was Chinese Cinderella and the Secret Dragon Society. It was beautiful and made me think philosophically at a young age. This made me fall in love with China and want to learn more about Chinese philosophy as well as take it on board and apply it to my own life.

 

Wakefield Libraries

Books are powerful things. They can introduce us to new ideas. Give us the courage to do what we couldn’t do before.
Even transform our lives completely.

Here’s Neil Gaiman talking about a book that changed things for him

Waterstones is inviting readers to tell their stories about the books that have made a difference to them in The Book that made me There are lots of stories to read from all sorts of people.

For me it was Alan Garner’s The Weirdstone of Brisingamen read to me at school (thanks Mr Brennan) and Alison Uttley’s A Traveller in Time which I found on the classroom bookshelf. They were the first books that took me so completely to another place and time and showed me how powerful a book can be.

What book changed things for you?

View original post

Leave a Reply

