Some Other Social Media Sites

SleepyDragon1320:

I can only comment about Google+, Tumblr, YouTube and LinkedIn as they are the only ones I use. I might get more views if I used FaceBook and Twitter granted but I have personal reasons for not using those.
Google+ can be somewhat quiet but I find that if I share my blog posts with the right circles and put the occasional hash tag to make sure it appears in searches, I can get quite a few views from it.
I agree that Tumblr tends to be very visual and it is why I will always try to put a picture on a post if possible. I find though that tagging posts with as many appropriate tags as I can really helps posts to be found and to encourage people to read them. Find the right fandom on Tumblr and it will generate a view or two every day.
I have a YouTube (well, I have to have one since I have a Google+ account!) and admittedly, I do not post many videos on there. Mostly because I just don’t have the skills necessary to make and edit them. I did do a couple of vlogs for Camp NaNoWriMo a few years ago but I just was not disciplined enough to continue with it. Maybe I should try to do more…
Lastly but by no means least is LinkedIn. Since I have so few connections on there, maybe it’s no wonder it generates the least amount of views possible. I keep posting my posts there to try and keep it alive in the hopes that it will help me towards getting a job. Could be wishful thinking. I have noticed however that LinkedIn does report that at least one of my connections is looking and reading my posts so there could be something happening there that I am not aware of.

Originally posted on Legends of Windemere:

Pinterest, Tumblr, Instagram Icons

Pinterest, Tumblr, Instagram Icons

There are many other social media sites.  I went into detail with the ones I use the most often.  Several I simply connect to my blog and leave it at that.  Here are a few more that you might want to play around with.

Pinterest

I do use Pinterest a lot more than the rest of this list, but I’ve never really done more than the basics.  It’s great for visual artists.  Authors can play around with it, but it’s really about the pictures.  You can ‘Pin’ books directly from their Amazon page, which makes the ‘Pin’ a doorway to the page.  It can help other authors to ‘Pin’ their books and make an album for eBooks.  Take some time to wander Pinterest and ‘Repin’ things that you like and build up a few boards.  The truth is that you can utilize this social media site…

View original 371 more words

Leave a Reply

